Modern to Primal: My Evolution to Proper Nutrition and Elite Fitness


first day at crossfit mpls
August 1, 2009, 11:39 pm
Filed under: CrossFit, Fitness

mere and me xfit day 1It’s going to be very difficult to try to describe the level of intensity that my sister and I experienced at our first CrossFit workout on Thursday. We are both overweight and out of shape, not to mention non-athletic to begin with. Tyler, our coach, started us with basic form on squats. Then we practiced pull-ups with large rubber bands attached to our feet for buoyancy. Then we warmed up with walking lunges and arm circles with 10-pound free weights. We took a walk down the path where we would be doing 200 meter sprints (twice). When he had showed us everything we would be doing in a timed session, we were both already exhausted.

The building is in the Mpls warehouse district, and a railroad track sits between the gym’s main building and another one just like it. There is lots of loose gravel in that area, and that’s where the sprints begin. Tyler started the timer, and we took off. My legs literally gave out from under me and I slammed into the gravel. I was stunned, but embarrassed enough that I got right back up and started running again. It hurt like hell. Words cannot express how much I HATE running. My lungs were burning, and my newly scraped skin felt prickly and on fire. I literally fought back tears due to physical pain, but I endured.

Got back to the gym, did 10 pull ups, 15 push-ups, 20 sit-ups, 30 squats, and yet another hellacious 200 meter sprint. We never found out our time. This was likely due to the fact that it nearly killed us to complete the reps at all. Tyler even cut them down to half the amount due to our poor fitness level. Thankfully, he suggested that we work together in private lessons for the next 2-3 weeks to get our form down on the basics. We won’t even start the Olympic lifting stuff until then. He said that the classes would likely deter us from coming back, as the other members can be very intense. Now normally this would have hurt my feelings and I would have just said ‘fuck it’ and decided to not come back. But not this time. I wanted to kick some ass. Even though I’ve never felt pain like that in my life, I was determined to come back and do better next time. This is the kind of commitment level that CrossFit requires. There is no half-ass effort here. You either give it your personal best, or you go home.

I’m not going home. I’m going back…and I’m going to prove to myself that I have what it takes to do this.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How much does that cost, if you don’t mind me asking?

Comment by fasterpssycat

I can’t remember his exact quote for a single person, but I know it was rather high (something like $180/mo). He gave Mere and I a discount that he normally gives married people, so we’re each paying $75 per month. He does give a free consultation/workout, which is what Mere and I were doing on Thursday. If you can work it into your budget, I highly recommend it. It’s fitness that is functional and doesn’t specialize; it’s designed for practical application in everyday life.

Comment by grokette

I applaud you for your determination! You’re an inspiration to me. 🙂

Comment by Kate

Oh, you are too sweet. You wanna join me now?!? 😉

Comment by grokette




Leave a Reply

