Modern to Primal: My Evolution to Proper Nutrition and Elite Fitness


barefoot and primal
July 17, 2009, 5:05 am
Filed under: Clothing & Athletic Wear

vibram five fingers

I love walking barefoot, especially in cool grass, smooth sand, and over large stones and boulders. I’ve never really enjoyed wearing shoes, particularly uncomfortable ones like pumps, heels and boots. Hence, the reason I usually buy flats. However, to save money, I usually buy poor quality shoes that end up falling apart rather quickly. In my new zest for all things organic and ‘primal,’ I stumbled on this new barefoot/shoe concept called Vibram Five Fingers. It’s basically a lightweight slip-on with a rubber sole and individual spaces for your toes. They are supposed to be the closest thing to going barefoot with added protection.  Apparently, our feet become very unhealthy after years of stuffing them in overly padded footwear.

If I manage to take home the BLC prize of $260, I’m thinking of investing in a pair of Vibram’s.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t recommend Vibram Fivefingers enough. You’ll certainly enjoy learning how to walk properly, and they make running (sprinting!) fun again: proper runnning technique seems to come as standard!

Of course, the one drawback is that you’ll soon start finding reasons to go barefoot with your newly ‘trained’ feet, but keep your Vibrams close at hand (or foot!). Your feet will love you, your lower back will love you, your legs will love you…you get the idea 🙂 Before long you’ll long at you ‘new’ strong flexible feet admiringly; human feet really are as amazing as our hands, rather than the curiously shaped ends of our legs that are conveniently shoe-shaped.

I’d personally recommend buying the KSO version, I wasn’t a fan of the tags used for fastening the Classic/Originals.

Best wishes and GROK ON!

Comment by Eegah!

Now I’m really excited! I’ll give your KSO recommendation some thought. Thank you so much for your input!

GROK ON!

Comment by grokette

I’ve been using the KSO as well. Be warned that if you buy a pair, you will soon be finding an excuse to buy a second pair. I’ve put my full KSO review up here.

Comment by Zog

Oh, I have no doubts about that! I’m thinking that I will go with the KSO’s. Your review was excellent. Thanks for the link!

Comment by grokette




Leave a Reply

